My asic experience so far "z9 mini"

quick intro ,
I am no new to cryptocurrencies but only started mining since 1.5 year ago, I choose zcash for its tech and the algorithm works good with my nvidia cards ( I am a graphics designer ) .
never liked asics and never will.
but after z9 was introduced , I got curious why people manufacture them ? whats the good things about them and why people buy them . and after reading all the ridiculous debate on asics vs gpu and all the BS claims by asic fanboys . I decided to jump in . and I wish I didn’t .

Here is my experience with z9 mini so far.

I ordered first batch 1 z9 mini costed me around 2800 USD with taxes psu and shipping.
and when price dropped to 850 USD on next batch I had no choice but to buy 2 of them to average out the loss, total cost including taxes and psu and shipping for second batch was 2300 USD.

thats total of 5100 USD

I mined zcash with it since I received first batch till today .

total mined zcash 11 zcash , worth today 1375 USD

current zcash income from all 3 asics 0.075 zcash daily which is around 2.25 zcash monthly
I only overclocked them to 12k because of the noise .

assuming difficulty doesn’t go higher and price is stable . I need another 14 months just to break even .

if any one has a question I will happily answer what I can .

and for the BTG team , RESPECT ! .
I read many claims like btg is a sh*t coin from other coin fan boys but after what I saw what other teams ie zcash , zen …etc did when asics introduced they were all full of it .

please don’t allow asics to take over ever.

yours, a new BTG fan .

1 Like

I’m very sorry to hear about your negative experience with the ASIC miners - you highlight some of the big problems with ASICs.

GPU makers can not screw around with pricing to get the maximum from miners, because miners are only a small fraction of their revenues - most GPUs are purchased to power computer displays.